Wifi on aircraft or getting the sack

EMR Australia - Tuesday, March 05, 2013

Would you like airline staff to treat you like a sack of potatoes?

Fat chance! you might say.

Well, it’s too late!

Engineers of Boeings aircraft used sacks of potatoes as stand-ins for passengers while they tested aircraft Wi-Fi signals—because, they said, potatoes behave in a similar way to the signals to humans.


Apparently none of the 9000kg of potatoes developed headaches, irritability, memory or concentration problems, depression or brain tumours during the several days of testing.

But, we wonder, did they develop any eye problems?

(See BBC News 21.12.12.)

from 'EMR and Health' March 2013, vol 9 no 1

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr. Henry Lai Dr Larry Marshall Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Linda Erdreich Dr Fernando Saravi T Abelin Dr Stephen Solomon SAM Model Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Markus Kern Dennis J Kucinich Lennart Hardell Dr William Rea Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Kenneth Foster Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Cyril Smith Dr Dieudonné John Patterson Dr Hugh Taylor Essex University Study Dr Louis Slesin Venice Resolution Prof Andrew Marino Grant Brecht US Senate Hearing SCENIHR Report Dr, Louis, Slesin Cindy Sage Salzburg Resolution Michael Dolan Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr Don Masich Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr James Oschman Frank Drews Brett Moule Dr Jean Monroe Mr Gary Melik Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr. Neil Cherry Kaspersky Lab A. Garcia Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) WHO Dr Michael Kundi Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Prof Trevor Marshall Dr S Mortazavi Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Martin Pall Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Alasdair Phillips Dr James Suckling Professor Martin Pall Dr Dominique Belpomme Catalyst Michael Carlberg Prof Olle Johansson Dr De-Kun Li Dr Asad Rahmani Ken Karipidis Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Jacquinta Lee Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Ohio State University Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Frank Clegg Dr Magda Havas IAFF Paul Wentworth ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Ron Overberg E Lopez-Martin Anne Silk Dr Ronald Powell Dr Devra Davis Professor Anthony Miller Dr John Dockerty Professor Michael Berk Stewart Committee Reports Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr David Carpenter Dr Priyanka Bandara Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Mona Nilsson Dr Mary Redmayne Jim Phillips Professor Rodney Croft John Cherry David Suzuki Professor Belpomme Dr Christopher Portier



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney