Venice resolution

EMR Australia - Thursday, September 18, 2008

International scientists endorse a precautionary approach to EMR exposure

A group of international scientists has signed a document endorsing a precautionary approach to EMR exposure. Known as the Venice Resolution, the document was initiated on 6 June by the International Commission for Electromagnetic Safety, following the 6th ICEMS Workshop, held last December.

“As stated in the Benevento Resolution of September 2001, we remain concerned about the effects of human exposure to electromagnetic fields on health. At the 6th ICEMS Workshop, entitled, “Foundations of bioelectromagnetics: towards a new rationale for risk assessment and management,” we discussed electrohypersensitivity, blood brain barrier changes, learning and behavioral effects, changes in anti-oxidant enzyme activities, DNA damage, biochemical mechanisms of interaction, biological damage and, experimental approaches to validate these effects. As an outcome, we are compelled to confirm the existence of non-thermal effects of electromagnetic fields on living matter, which seem to occur at every level of investigation from molecular to epidemiological.

“An urgent task before international researchers is to discover the detailed mechanisms of non-thermal interactions between electromagnetic fields and living matter. A collateral consequence will be the design of new general public and occupational protection standards. We, who are at the forefront of this research, encourage an ethical approach in setting of exposure standards which protect the health of all, including those who are more vulnerable. We recognize the need for research to reveal the critical exposure parameters of effect and risk from exposure to electromagnetic fields.

“The non-ionizing radiation protection standards recommended by international standards organizations, and supported by the World Health Organization, are inadequate. Existing guidelines are based on results from acute exposure studies and only thermal effects are considered. A world wide application of the Precautionary Principle is required. In addition, new standards should be developed to take various physiological conditions into consideration, eg pregnancy, newborns, children, and elderly people.

“We take exception to the claim of the wireless communication industry that there is no credible scientific evidence to conclude there is a risk. Recent epidemiological evidence is stronger than before, which is a further reason to justify precautions be taken to lower exposure standards in accordance with the Precautionary Principle.

“We recognize the growing public health problem known as electrohypersensitivity; that this adverse health condition can be quite disabling; and, that this condition requires further urgent investigation and recognition.

“We strongly advise limited use of cell phones, and other similar devices, by young children and teenagers, and we call upon governments to apply the Precautionary Principle as an interim measure while more biologically relevant standards are developed to protect against, not only the absorption of electromagnetic energy by the head, but also adverse effects of the signals on biochemistry, physiology and electrical biorhythms.”

The resolution and list of signatories to it can be found at

from 'EMR and Health' Sept 2008, vol 4 no 3

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Stephen Solomon Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Prof Olle Johansson Dr John Dockerty Venice Resolution Cindy Sage Dr David Carpenter Professor Anthony Miller Prof Andrew Marino Dr Linda Erdreich Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr Fernando Saravi Dr Ronald Powell Kaspersky Lab Dr Kenneth Foster Professor Hugo Lagercrantz ARPANSA RF Standard Grant Brecht WHO Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Brett Moule Dr S Mortazavi Anne Silk John Cherry Catalyst Frank Clegg Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr William Rea Dr Hugh Taylor Professor Martin Pall Dr Christopher Portier Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Mona Nilsson Dr Don Masich Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Christine Aschermann David Suzuki Dr Lennart Hardell SCENIHR Report Michael Carlberg Dr Dieudonné Dr, Louis, Slesin Professor Belpomme T Abelin Dr James Suckling Dr Larry Marshall Dennis J Kucinich Dr Jean Monroe IAFF Lennart Hardell A. Garcia Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Devra Davis Frank Drews Paul Wentworth Dr Priyanka Bandara SAM Model Dr Markus Kern Dr Igor Belyaev E Lopez-Martin Essex University Study Jim Phillips Salzburg Resolution Alasdair Phillips Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Louis Slesin John Patterson Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr De-Kun Li Dr Martin Pall Professor Michael Berk Dr Magda Havas Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr. Neil Cherry Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Professor Bruce Armstrong Stewart Committee Reports Mr Gary Melik Dr Mary Redmayne Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr. Henry Lai Dr Michael Kundi Dr Cyril Smith Professor Rodney Croft Dr Ron Overberg Dr Siegal Sadetzki US Senate Hearing Michael Dolan Ken Karipidis Ohio State University Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr James Oschman



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney