US mobile phone bill announced

EMR Australia - Thursday, September 09, 2010

US Congressman, Dennis J Kucinich is planning to introduce legislation on mobile phone safety.

The proposed bill will require warning labels for mobile phones with information about SAR levels, an update of the ‘decades-old’ standard and a national research program to study the health effects of mobile phone radiation.

‘Consumers have a right to know whether they are buying the phone with the lowest–or the highest–level of exposure to cell phone radiation. They also deserve to have up to date standards, which are now decades old,’ said Kucinich.

In announcing his proposed bill on 30 June, the Congressman referred to the findings of the Interphone mobile phone study. ‘Those using their cell phones only 30 minutes per day or more were found to have a 40% increased risk of a type of brain tumour called glioma. This risk increases to 96% if the phone is used mostly on one side of the head.,’ he said.

(Media Release, 30.06.10.)

from 'EMR and Health' Sept 2010, vol 6 no 3

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Devra Davis Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Dominique Belpomme Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Frank Clegg SCENIHR Report Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Priyanka Bandara Grant Brecht Catalyst Professor Belpomme Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Magda Havas Dr Ron Overberg Professor Martin Pall Dr Markus Kern Brett Moule SAM Model Professor Rodney Croft Dr David Carpenter Dr Lawrence Anukam Venice Resolution Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dr Fernando Saravi Dr S Mortazavi Dr. Neil Cherry Dr Stephen Solomon Kaspersky Lab Dr Martin Pall Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi WHO Dr John Dockerty Dr Jacquinta Lee E Lopez-Martin Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Anne Silk Dr Michael Kundi T Abelin Dr De-Kun Li Essex University Study Mr Gary Melik Dr Igor Belyaev Jim Phillips ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr Jean Monroe Prof Andrew Marino Dr Larry Marshall Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Ken Karipidis Stewart Committee Reports Dr. Henry Lai IAFF Dr James Oschman Dr Dieudonné Lennart Hardell Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr Mary Redmayne David Suzuki Michael Carlberg Dr Ronald Powell Paul Wentworth Dr Don Masich John Patterson Prof Trevor Marshall Prof Olle Johansson Professor Michael Berk Ohio State University Dr Linda Erdreich Professor Anthony Miller Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Louis Slesin Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) John Cherry Dr Christopher Portier Dr Cyril Smith Frank Drews Cindy Sage Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Kenneth Foster Salzburg Resolution US Senate Hearing Dr, Louis, Slesin Mona Nilsson Alasdair Phillips Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr Christine Aschermann Dr James Suckling Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Michael Dolan Dennis J Kucinich Dr William Rea Dr Hugh Taylor A. Garcia Dr Asad Rahmani



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney