EMR Updates from Around the World - EMR & Health Report December 2014 Issue

EMR Australia - Thursday, December 25, 2014

EHS hearing

On 4 November, the European Economic and Social Committee (EESC), a consultative body of the European Union, held a public hearing in Belgium to debate how the EU should deal with the issue of electromagnetic hypersensitivity and to give input for the EESC's opinion that is scheduled for adoption in January 2015. (

Smart meter class action

A community group is preparing for a class action law suit on smart meters. In an open letter dated 5 September, Don Powers, an Attorney from Powers at Law, and Jo Esposito of Stop Smart Meters in Oklahoma, invited readers to contact them if they are concerned about smart meters or wished to participate in the suit. : http:// OKLAHOMA.JoeEsposito.pdf

Mobile phone suit

Another law suit is expected to commence in the US in March against mobile phone manufacturers and network providers. It will be filed by the firm of Peter Angelos on behalf of mobile phone users with brain tumours. It will claim compensation for brain tumour patients and their families and loss of income as a result of the disease. (Daily Mail Australia, 07.10.14.)

Netherlands report

On 5 September, the Health Council of the Netherlands released a report called ‘Mobile Phones and Cancer’ covering animal studies on cancer. The report concluded, ‘Overall the studies discussed in this report show that no effects of long- term exposure to RF/EMF on the development or growth of tumours in general, or on specific types of tumours, have been demonstrated in rodents.’ (Health Cancer of the Netherlands, ‘Mobile Phones and Cancer’, default/files/Mobile_phones_and_cancer_Part_2_Anim al_studies_on_carcinogenesis.pdf)


Associate Professor Olle Johansson has been made a Lifetime Member of Honour of the Danish Society for Electrohypersensitivity. The award was conferred at the September 20-21 Open Mind Conference at Kedelhallen in Copenhagen. Professor Johansson has written extensively about electromagnetic hypersensitivity and is author of a number of papers showing skin changes in sensitive volunteers exposed to electromagnetic radiation. (correspondence, 03.10.14.)

MCS recognised

In late September, Spain officially recognised the condition of Multiple Chemical Sensitivity (MCS), paving way for doctors to diagnose and treat patients with the condition. (2014 Association pour la santé environnementale du Québec, media release, 24.09.14.) This is an important step forward for people with electromagnetic hypersensitivity, many of whom also suffer from MCS.

CSIRO leadership

The new head of Australia’s chief scientific organisation—the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO)—has links with the telecommunications industry. Dr Larry Marshall, who will take over leadership of the CSIRO in January, is a physics-trained businessman who established a number of companies in the US, including a telecommunications company. Industry Minister Ian Macfarlane said, ‘his experience in Silicon Valley, R&D development and the commercialisation of products and ideas will be valuable in ensuring CSIRO rightfully claims its place at the centre of Australian industry policy, building new links between business and research organisations.” (media release, 09.10.14.)

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Prof Andrew Marino Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr, Louis, Slesin Dr Dieudonné Mr Gary Melik Dr William Rea Kaspersky Lab Dr Mary Redmayne Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Fernando Saravi Brett Moule Essex University Study Dr Don Masich Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Lisa Nagy Jim Phillips IAFF Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Lawrence Anukam Cindy Sage Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr Devra Davis Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Cyril Smith Frank Drews Grant Brecht SCENIHR Report Dr. Henry Lai Anne Silk Lennart Hardell Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Jean Monroe Dr Olga Naidenko Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Frank Clegg US Senate Hearing Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Ron Overberg Dr Linda Erdreich SAM Model A. Garcia Professor Bruce Armstrong Dennis J Kucinich Dr Hugh Taylor T Abelin Dr Ronald Powell Dr Louis Slesin David Suzuki Dr Kenneth Foster Dr Lennart Hardell Dr James Oschman Professor Michael Berk Dr Christopher Portier Dr Markus Kern Dr Priyanka Bandara Michael Carlberg E Lopez-Martin Professor Belpomme Michael Dolan Dr S Mortazavi Dr Christine Aschermann Paul Wentworth John Cherry Dr Larry Marshall Stewart Committee Reports Ohio State University Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Jacquinta Lee Alasdair Phillips Professor Martin Pall Ken Karipidis Salzburg Resolution Dr James Suckling Dr John Dockerty John Patterson Prof Olle Johansson Professor Rodney Croft Professor Anthony Miller Venice Resolution Dr Michael Kundi WHO Dr De-Kun Li Mona Nilsson Dr Magda Havas ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Martin Pall Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr Siegal Sadetzki Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Catalyst Dr. Neil Cherry Dr David Carpenter



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney