Sydney Council phone tower forum

EMR Australia - Friday, December 14, 2001

Representatives fromlcoal government areas throughout Sydney gathered to consider the implications of new state and federal rgulations and new telecommunicatins technologies.

A federal Code of Practice and a new federal standard for radiofrequency exposure are about to be released and a state environmental planning policy (SEPP) has been in the process of development by the NSW Department of Urban Affairs and Planning (DUAP) for eighteen months. At the same time as regulations are evolving, changes are taking place in communications technology which will require smaller antennas in smaller cells scattered more liberally throughout the community. All of these changes are likely to impact significantly on the way in which councils consider and deal with applications from carriers for new mobile phone base stations.

In anticipation of these changes, a forum on Planning Issues relating to Mobile Phone Towers was held at Burwood Council on October 25th. Organised jointly by Sutherland Shire and Burwood Councils, the Forum attracted representatives from most councils in Sydney, with mayors, councillors, departmental managers and planners all in attendance.

The presentations began with Richard Aberline, Manager of Sutherland Shire Council’s Environmental Planning Department, outlining the legislative background to the present regulatory situation in NSW. John Lincoln, EMRAA’s representative on the ARPANSA working group that is developing the new RF standard, explained the status of the new standard and EMRAA’s reservations about its ability to protect public health. EMRAA’s Lyn McLean outlined the reasons underlying community concern about the installation of mobile phone towers and the development of the ACIF Code for the Deployment of Radiocommunications Infrastructure that will significantly change the way carriers interact with councils.

Erika Roka, Strategic Planner for Blacktown Council discussed her council’s DCP—its original form, its legislative effectiveness and its recent revision. Dr Garry Smith, Principal Environmental Scientist from Sutherland Shire Council, described the rationale for and success of Sutherland’s policy to date and explained that it was shortly to be revised.

The discussion session was an opportunity for councils to share their experiences and their concerns. Several participants expressed dissatisfaction with the Low Impact Determination which discriminated against mobile phone towers on the basis of height rather than emissions. The need for councils to understand and respond to the new ACIF Code (see page 4) was discussed. There was considerable support for the idea of developing a generic planning document for telecommunications.

An afternoon workshop focused on how councils could best deal with a number of important siting considerations such as colocation.

The outcome of the meeting was a decision to establish a telecommunications working group to develop a generic planning document. A number of attendees indicated their willingness to be part of the on-going process and a follow-up meeting has been organised for December 4th.

EMRAA News Dec 2001, Vol 6 No 4

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Cyril Smith Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr De-Kun Li Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Louis Slesin Dr Maryanne Demasi Grant Brecht Anne Silk Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Don Masich Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Christopher Portier Professor Anthony Miller Dr Markus Kern Michael Carlberg Dr. Henry Lai Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr James Oschman Dr. Neil Cherry Dr Dominique Belpomme Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) John Patterson Prof Andrew Marino Frank Drews Catalyst US Senate Hearing Professor Belpomme Dr S Mortazavi Dr Igor Belyaev Paul Wentworth Dr Larry Marshall Frank Clegg Professor Martin Pall Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Dieudonné Dr Priyanka Bandara Lennart Hardell Stewart Committee Reports Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam David Suzuki Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Mr Gary Melik Dennis J Kucinich IAFF Venice Resolution Dr Ron Overberg Dr William Rea Dr Jean Monroe Ohio State University Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr James Suckling Dr Martin Pall Prof Olle Johansson Dr Ronald Powell Dr Magda Havas T Abelin John Cherry Jim Phillips Kaspersky Lab WHO Dr John Dockerty Salzburg Resolution Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Ken Karipidis Professor Michael Berk Dr Linda Erdreich Michael Dolan A. Garcia Dr Hugh Taylor Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Mona Nilsson Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dr Kenneth Foster Dr David Carpenter Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr Mary Redmayne Alasdair Phillips Dr Michael Kundi Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr, Louis, Slesin SCENIHR Report Dr Devra Davis Professor Rodney Croft ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Stephen Solomon Brett Moule Dr Fernando Saravi Essex University Study Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi SAM Model E Lopez-Martin Cindy Sage Dr Jacquinta Lee



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney