Salzburg Resolution

EMR Australia - Monday, September 11, 2000

At a meeting in Salsburg in June attendees endorsed a resolution calling for measures to protect community health from phone tower radiation.

Salzburg Resolution on Mobile Telecommunication Base Stations

International Conference on Cell Tower Siting Linking Science & Public Health,

Salzburg, June 7-8, 2000

1. It is recommended that development rights for the erection and for

operation of a base station should be subject to a permission procedure. The protocol should include the following aspects:
  • Information ahead and active involvement of the local public
  • Inspection of alternative locations for the siting
  • Protection of health and wellbeing
  • Considerations on conservation of land and townscape
  • Computation and measurement of exposure
  • Considerations on existing sources of HF-EMF exposure
  • Inspection and monitoring after installation.

2. It is recommended that a national database be set up on a governmental level giving details of all base stations and their emissions.

3. It is recommended for existing and new base stations to exploit all technical possibilities to ensure exposure is as low as achievable (ALATA-principle) and that new base stations are planned to guarantee that the exposure at places where people spend longer periods of time is as low as possible, but within the strict public health guidelines.

4. Presently the assessment of biological effects of exposures from base stations in low-dose range is difficult but indispensable for protection of public health. There is at present evidence of no threshold for adverse health effects.

Recommendations of specific exposure limits are prone to considerable uncertainties and should be considered preliminary. For the total of all highfrequency irradiation a limit value of 100 mW/m" (10 µW/cm") is recommended. For preventive public health protection a preliminary guideline level for the sum total of all immissions from ELF pulse modulated high-frequency exposure facilities such as GSM base stations of 1 mW/m" (0,1 µW/cm") is recommended.


Dr Ekkehardt Alpeter, Inst für Social- and Preventive Medicine, University of Bern, CH

Dr Carl Blackmann, US Environmental Protection Agency, USA

Dr Neil Cherry, Lincoln University Christchurch, Neuseeland

Prof Dr Huai Chiang, Zhejiang University School of Medicine MicrowaveLab, Hangzhou, China

Dr Bill P Curry, EMSci Tek Consulting Co, Illinois, USA

Prof Dr Livio Giuliani, National Institute of Occupational Safety and Prevention, Roma, Italien

Prof Dr Yuri Grigoriev, Centre of Electromagnetic Safety, Institute of Biophysics, Moscow, Russland

Dr Helene Irvine, Greater Glasgow Health Board, Dept of Public Health, Glasgow, Scotland, UK

Dr Christoph König, Federal State of Salzburg, Public Health Dept, Environmental Health, Salzburg, Österreich

Prof Dr Michael Kundi, University of Vienna, Inst For Environmental Health, Wien, Österr

Ronald MacFarlane, Health Promotion and Environmental Protection Office, Toronto Public Health, Toronto, Canada

Dr Malcolm MacGarvin, modus vivendi, Consultant for the European Environment Agency, Glenlivet, Scotland, UK

Dr Fiorenzo Marinelli, Inst Di Citomorfologia CNR, Bologna, Italien

Dr Wilhelm Mosgöller, University of Vienna, Inst for Cancer Research, Wien, Österr

Dr Gerd Oberfeld, Federal State of Salzburg, Public Health Dept, Environmental Health, Salzburg, Österreich

Dr Collin Ramsay, Scottish Center for Infection and Environmental Health (SCIEH), Glasgow, Scotland, UK

MA Cindy Sage, Sage Associates, California, USA

Louis Slesin, Microwave News, New York, USA

Prof Dr Stan Szmigielski, Dept of Microwave Safety, Military Institute of Hygiene and Epidemiology, Warsaw, Polen

EMRAA News Sept 2000, Vol 5 No 3

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Prof Trevor Marshall Dr David Carpenter Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Siegal Sadetzki Prof Andrew Marino Dr Fernando Saravi Dr Ron Overberg SAM Model Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Kaspersky Lab Dr Larry Marshall Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Salzburg Resolution Dr Jacquinta Lee David Suzuki T Abelin Professor Rodney Croft Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Ohio State University Dr S Mortazavi US Senate Hearing A. Garcia Dr Cyril Smith ARPANSA RF Standard Dr James Suckling Prof Olle Johansson Anne Silk Dr. Henry Lai Dr Mary Redmayne WHO Cindy Sage Dr Jean Monroe Dr Linda Erdreich Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) John Cherry Dr Igor Belyaev Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Stewart Committee Reports Dr Lennart Hardell Dr De-Kun Li Dr William Rea Dr Markus Kern John Patterson Dr Olga Naidenko Lennart Hardell Dr Martin Pall Dr Stephen Solomon Professor Belpomme Professor Anthony Miller E Lopez-Martin Dr Christopher Portier Michael Carlberg Dr Lisa Nagy Mr Gary Melik Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam IAFF Michael Dolan Venice Resolution Dr. Neil Cherry Brett Moule Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Don Masich Jim Phillips Mona Nilsson Dr Magda Havas Dennis J Kucinich Professor Martin Pall Dr James Oschman Paul Wentworth Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Ken Karipidis Dr Kenneth Foster Frank Drews Grant Brecht Dr Louis Slesin Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Frank Clegg Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr Dieudonné Dr Ronald Powell Professor Michael Berk Essex University Study Catalyst Dr Michael Kundi Dr, Louis, Slesin Dr Lawrence Anukam Alasdair Phillips Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Christine Aschermann Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Devra Davis Dr Priyanka Bandara Dr John Dockerty SCENIHR Report Dr Hugh Taylor



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney