Problem with radiation standards

EMR Australia - Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Existing standards considerably underestimate the amount of radiation absorbed by a child’s head, say researchers from the US.

Radiation absorption is assessed using a model of a head that is based on the head size of the top 10% of US military personnel and is usually referred to as ‘SAM’. This is not an appropriate model to assess radiation absorption of the population, say Om Gandhi and team, because smaller heads absorb more radiation.

Children absorb more radiation than adults and much more than the SAM model. They can absorb up to three times as much in the hippocampus and hypothalamus and they can absorb ten times as much in the bone marrow.

The authors call for an alternative method of measuring radiation absorption using anatomically accurate models of people of various ages as opposed to ‘SAM’.

(Gandhi OP et al, Electromagn Biol Med, Oct 14, 2011.) from 'EMR and Health' Dec 2011, vol 7 no 4

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Frank Clegg Dr James Suckling WHO Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr Maryanne Demasi Catalyst Ohio State University Anne Silk Essex University Study David Suzuki Dr Don Masich Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Lawrence Anukam Frank Drews Dr. Henry Lai Dr Larry Marshall SCENIHR Report Stewart Committee Reports E Lopez-Martin Michael Dolan T Abelin Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Markus Kern ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Fernando Saravi John Patterson Dr Christopher Portier Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Jacquinta Lee Prof Olle Johansson Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr Priyanka Bandara Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr James Oschman Paul Wentworth Dr Cyril Smith Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Dieudonné Kaspersky Lab Dennis J Kucinich Dr Olga Naidenko Professor Anthony Miller John Cherry Michael Carlberg Salzburg Resolution Venice Resolution Dr Mary Redmayne Dr Jean Monroe Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr Michael Kundi Dr Linda Erdreich Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Mona Nilsson Dr David Carpenter Dr Louis Slesin Dr Stephen Solomon Ken Karipidis Dr. Neil Cherry Professor Belpomme Dr Magda Havas Dr Lennart Hardell US Senate Hearing Dr Devra Davis Dr Kenneth Foster Dr Christine Aschermann Cindy Sage Grant Brecht Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Prof Andrew Marino Dr Martin Pall Brett Moule Dr John Dockerty Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Ron Overberg Professor Rodney Croft A. Garcia Professor Bruce Armstrong SAM Model Professor Martin Pall Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr William Rea Jim Phillips Alasdair Phillips Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr De-Kun Li Dr, Louis, Slesin Professor Michael Berk Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Lennart Hardell Mr Gary Melik Dr Ronald Powell Dr S Mortazavi IAFF



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney