Phone warnings to schools

EMR Australia - Friday, September 08, 2000

UK Education Secretary, David Blunkett, has sent guidelines to every school in England to discourage the use of mobile phones by children.

The letter states, “Children aged 15 and under ... are likely to be more vulnerable to any unrecognised health risks from mobile phone use than are adults because their nervous systems are still developing. Also, because of their smaller heads, thinner skulls and higher tissue conductivity, children may absorb more energy from a mobile phone than do adults.” It also recommends that, “Where children do use mobile phones, they should do so for as short a time as possible.”

In addition to the letter to schools, the British government will be devising a leaflet to be available at the point of sale advising of the risk of mobile phone use to children under 16.

It is also consulting with telecommunications companies about a proposal to provide health warnings about radiation risks to children that would be posted to users with their bills.

EMRAA News Sept 2000, Vol 5 No 3

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



John Cherry Dr James Oschman A. Garcia Dr Lawrence Anukam Kaspersky Lab Dr John Dockerty Professor Michael Berk Dr Dieudonné Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Alasdair Phillips Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Michael Kundi Venice Resolution Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr Maryanne Demasi Prof Andrew Marino ARPANSA RF Standard Professor Anthony Miller Lennart Hardell Dr William Rea Dr Fernando Saravi Grant Brecht SAM Model Dr Hugh Taylor Prof Olle Johansson Mr Gary Melik Dr. Neil Cherry Dr David Carpenter Paul Wentworth Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Frank Clegg Dr Cyril Smith Dr Louis Slesin David Suzuki Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr Stephen Solomon US Senate Hearing Ohio State University Dr Larry Marshall Professor Rodney Croft Dr Markus Kern Dr James Suckling Dr De-Kun Li Catalyst Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr, Louis, Slesin Frank Drews Dr. Henry Lai Dr S Mortazavi Dr Mary Redmayne Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Essex University Study Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Linda Erdreich Michael Carlberg SCENIHR Report Professor Bruce Armstrong Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Michael Dolan Dr Don Masich Dr Priyanka Bandara Stewart Committee Reports Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Ron Overberg IAFF Anne Silk Cindy Sage Dr Magda Havas Professor Belpomme Dr Kenneth Foster Mona Nilsson Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi John Patterson E Lopez-Martin Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr Lennart Hardell Jim Phillips Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr Jean Monroe Ken Karipidis Dennis J Kucinich Dr Jacquinta Lee Brett Moule T Abelin Professor Martin Pall Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr Devra Davis Dr Christopher Portier Salzburg Resolution Dr Martin Pall WHO Dr Ronald Powell



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney