Phone tower bill

EMR Australia - Monday, October 27, 2014

On 27 October, Andrew Wilkie, Independent MP for Denison in Tasmania, introduced a Private Members Bill for an Act aimed at giving communities more say about the siting of mobile phone base stations.

In introducing the bill to the parliament, Mr Wilkie said that he was not trying to stop the construction of the base stations, but to give councils and communities more power and his bill was prompted by the large numbers of complaints he had received from communities around Australia.

‘No one seems to be listening. Telcos have all the rights. councils have few rights and the community seem to have no rights,’ he told the House. ‘Powerful companies, whether they be banks, supermarkets or telecommunications companies, seem to be able to dangle governments on fairly short strings almost like puppets. These big companies seem to be able to do whatever they want.’

In 2011 Mr Wilkie moved a bill which would have given the community more rights in relation to phone towers but said that bill had gone ‘nowhere’. The current bill aims to:

  • expand the number of people to be notified about new mobile phone base stations, requiring consultation for residents living within 500 metres of new facilities;
  • extend the timeframe for people to respond to applications for base stations to 30 days;
  • prevent the construction of base stations within 100 metres of ‘sensitive sites’ such as schools;
  • limit the number of facilities that can escape council approval by being classified as ‘low impact’;
  • stop carriers from adding new antennas to existing facilities under the guise of ‘maintenance’ to avoid council approval. 

`Many new phone towers in recent years have been badly sited and subject to no or little community consultation,’ Mr Wilkie said. ‘Frankly, residents are the ones who have to live with mobile phone tower developments so they should have a say as to where they’re sited.’

(Media release, 27.10.14;

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Jim Phillips SCENIHR Report Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Alasdair Phillips Paul Wentworth Dr Jacquinta Lee Cindy Sage Professor Michael Berk Dr James Oschman Dr. Neil Cherry E Lopez-Martin Dr De-Kun Li Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Lisa Nagy Brett Moule Dr Christopher Portier Lennart Hardell Anne Silk Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr S Mortazavi Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dr Devra Davis Dr William Rea Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr, Louis, Slesin Catalyst Essex University Study Ken Karipidis Michael Dolan John Patterson Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Magda Havas Professor Rodney Croft Dr Cyril Smith US Senate Hearing Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Don Masich Dr Louis Slesin SAM Model IAFF Salzburg Resolution Dr Jean Monroe Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dennis J Kucinich Professor Belpomme Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Linda Erdreich Kaspersky Lab Mr Gary Melik Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Prof Andrew Marino T Abelin A. Garcia Dr James Suckling David Suzuki Dr Lennart Hardell ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Kenneth Foster Dr Larry Marshall John Cherry Dr Siegal Sadetzki Frank Clegg Stewart Committee Reports Dr Markus Kern Grant Brecht Prof Olle Johansson Professor Anthony Miller Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr Mary Redmayne Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Venice Resolution Dr Martin Pall Dr. Henry Lai Dr Dieudonné Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Priyanka Bandara Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr David Carpenter Mona Nilsson Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Professor Martin Pall Michael Carlberg Dr Fernando Saravi Dr John Dockerty Dr Ronald Powell Dr Stephen Solomon Frank Drews Dr Michael Kundi WHO Ohio State University Dr Ron Overberg Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Christine Aschermann



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney