Not-So-Smart Meters: Report

EMR Australia - Thursday, October 08, 2015

The Victorian smart meter rollout has been a costly exercise that has substantially failed to deliver anticipated results. This is the conclusion of the September report of the Victorian Auditor-General, John Doyle.

Since 2009, the average household has paid approximately $760 in metering charges which have not been itemised on electricity bills. These costs may reduce in the short term but are expected to increase ’sharply’ from 2024 when the meters are due to be replaced. State costs may exceed the 2011 estimate of $319 million and are even higher than for manual reading of electricity meters.

While it’s possible that about 80 percent of expected benefits may be realised in time, this may not be the case, as this calculation is based on ‘complex assumptions’ that are not being met.

‘Market research conducted in early 2014 found that two-thirds of Victorians did not understand what the benefits of smart meters were and many were still unaware of the link between their smart meter and saving money on their electricity bills,’ the report stated.

Although consumers have paid for the smart meter rollout, they have not been kept informed about it. ‘There is little clear and transparent knowledge of costs to consumers to date and no public reporting of either the costs or benefits of the program,’ Mr Doyle wrote. (‘Realising the Benefits of Smart Meters’, Victorian Auditor-General’s Report, September 2015.)

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



SAM Model Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Dr. Neil Cherry Dr Priyanka Bandara Alasdair Phillips US Senate Hearing Dr Fernando Saravi Brett Moule Michael Carlberg Dr Ron Overberg Stewart Committee Reports A. Garcia Dr Jean Monroe Mona Nilsson ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Jim Phillips Lennart Hardell Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr James Oschman Dr Ronald Powell John Patterson Frank Drews Dr Kenneth Foster SCENIHR Report Paul Wentworth Dr Dieudonné E Lopez-Martin Kaspersky Lab Ohio State University Dr Stephen Solomon Dr David Carpenter Professor Michael Berk Professor Martin Pall Dr Lawrence Anukam Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Professor Rodney Croft Venice Resolution Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Mary Redmayne Professor Bruce Armstrong Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Louis Slesin Dr De-Kun Li Dr Asad Rahmani Cindy Sage Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM WHO Catalyst Prof Olle Johansson Grant Brecht Dr Olga Naidenko Dr. Henry Lai John Cherry Professor Belpomme Salzburg Resolution Dr Christopher Portier Dr S Mortazavi Dr, Louis, Slesin T Abelin Mr Gary Melik Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Devra Davis Michael Dolan Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Essex University Study Dennis J Kucinich Prof Trevor Marshall David Suzuki Frank Clegg Dr John Dockerty Dr Christine Aschermann IAFF Dr Martin Pall Anne Silk Ken Karipidis Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr Linda Erdreich Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Siegal Sadetzki Professor Anthony Miller Dr Markus Kern Dr Larry Marshall Dr William Rea Dr Cyril Smith Dr Don Masich Prof Andrew Marino Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr James Suckling Dr Magda Havas Dr Michael Kundi



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney