New WHO monograph

EMR Australia - Wednesday, October 15, 2014

The World Health Organisation recently released a draft review of scientific research on radiofrequency radiation and health published before 2013. Entitled ‘Radio Frequency fields: Environmental Health Criteria Monograph, the incomplete document was opened for consultation by RF experts until mid November. When completed, the document is likely to influence policy of radiation authorities worldwide.

The draft perpetuates the view that health effects are due to thermal exposures and that nonthermal effects are unlikely to cause health problems. The available chapters contain summaries of relevant studies but no conclusions as to the significance of their findings.

Oddly, the document was released for comment with three nuts-and-bolts chapters still unwritten. They are the chapters on ’Health risk assessment’, ‘Protective measures’ and the ‘Summary and recommendations for further study’.

The draft document is available from the WHO at: research/rf_ehc_page/en/

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Asad Rahmani Professor Belpomme Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Fernando Saravi US Senate Hearing Dr David Carpenter Dr Dieudonné Dr Michael Kundi Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Magda Havas Venice Resolution Dr Ron Overberg Ohio State University Dr Larry Marshall Dr Priyanka Bandara Dr, Louis, Slesin Dr William Rea Professor Michael Berk Alasdair Phillips A. Garcia Dr Hugh Taylor Dr De-Kun Li Dennis J Kucinich Professor Martin Pall Prof Olle Johansson John Cherry Mona Nilsson John Patterson Dr S Mortazavi Dr Martin Pall Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi SAM Model Dr James Oschman Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Markus Kern SCENIHR Report Lennart Hardell Jim Phillips Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Igor Belyaev Brett Moule Essex University Study Ken Karipidis Dr Louis Slesin Frank Clegg Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Professor Bruce Armstrong T Abelin Dr Devra Davis Salzburg Resolution WHO Professor Rodney Croft Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Cyril Smith Stewart Committee Reports Dr Lisa Nagy Paul Wentworth Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Christopher Portier Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Cindy Sage Dr Siegal Sadetzki Michael Dolan Dr Jean Monroe Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Dr. Henry Lai Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr Linda Erdreich Prof Trevor Marshall Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Kaspersky Lab Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Catalyst Dr James Suckling ARPANSA RF Standard Professor Anthony Miller IAFF Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Ronald Powell Grant Brecht Frank Drews Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Michael Carlberg Dr. Neil Cherry Mr Gary Melik David Suzuki E Lopez-Martin Dr Kenneth Foster Dr Don Masich Prof Andrew Marino Dr Mary Redmayne Anne Silk Dr John Dockerty



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney