New standard in Israel lowers radiofrequency (wireless) radiation exposure

EMR Australia - Tuesday, December 23, 2014

An Israeli municipality plans to introduce a standard which dramatically lowers the amount of radiofrequency (wireless) radiation exposure for residents.

The announcement was made following the development of cancer by three students in classrooms located near mobile phone antennas, which sparked a September demonstration by parents of students.

Zvika Zarfati and Eshel Armoni from the Mayor’s office, wrote to parents at the school, promising action to protect the community from radiation from the base stations. ‘The city of Kfar Saba decided to have the strictest standard that exists today—1 μW/cm2 and to strive to reduce the radiation in educational institutions to the minimum possible, in any case below 1 μW/cm2,’ they wrote.

The letter advised parents that the city had negotiated with the telecommunications companies that owned antennas near the school to redirect the main beans of transmissions, such that they no longer fall across the school.

In the letter, the city promised to undertake further actions to protect students at the school. These include prohibiting the use of mobile phones at the school, relocating students to classrooms with the lowest radiation levels and monitoring radiation emissions.

‘The mayor will lead a national move for coordination between Government Ministries to set a serious policy regarding everything that is related to cellular antennas that are close to educational institutions,’ the letter said. It also undertook to encourage national authorities to update its radiation standard for educational institutions.

(Hasharon Post, 08.09.14, translated by Iris Atzmon)

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



WHO Dr De-Kun Li T Abelin ARPANSA RF Standard A. Garcia Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) SCENIHR Report Catalyst Lennart Hardell Dr Dominique Belpomme Cindy Sage Dr Markus Kern Professor Michael Berk Ken Karipidis Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Asad Rahmani Professor Anthony Miller Paul Wentworth Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr Jean Monroe Dr David Carpenter Ohio State University Dr Magda Havas Dr Priyanka Bandara Dr. Neil Cherry Dr James Suckling Prof Olle Johansson Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr Don Masich Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Dieudonné Salzburg Resolution Mr Gary Melik Stewart Committee Reports Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Ron Overberg Dr Kenneth Foster IAFF Dr Fernando Saravi Dr Lennart Hardell John Patterson Dr Igor Belyaev Brett Moule Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Cyril Smith Dr Lawrence Anukam Michael Carlberg Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Professor Rodney Croft Michael Dolan Dr William Rea John Cherry Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr Mary Redmayne Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr. Henry Lai Dr Lisa Nagy Dr, Louis, Slesin Jim Phillips Dr John Dockerty Professor Belpomme Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Linda Erdreich Dennis J Kucinich Anne Silk Alasdair Phillips Dr Devra Davis Venice Resolution Dr Michael Kundi Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam SAM Model Professor Martin Pall Dr S Mortazavi Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum E Lopez-Martin Dr Christopher Portier Essex University Study Frank Clegg Prof Andrew Marino Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi David Suzuki Kaspersky Lab US Senate Hearing Dr Larry Marshall Mona Nilsson Dr James Oschman Dr Martin Pall Dr Louis Slesin Grant Brecht Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Ronald Powell Frank Drews Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney