Mobile-cancer link firmed

EMR Australia - Thursday, May 26, 2016

The results of a ten-year research project by the US National Toxicology Program (NTP) have shown that mobile phone radiation increased cancer rates in animals.

The program was undertaken to test the idea that mobile phone radiation did not cause health problems. The reverse was, in fact, found.

The scientists exposed rats to radiation from GSM and CDMA mobile phones over a two-year period. The animals developed increased rates of glioma brain tumours and schwannoma heart tumours. These findings are consistent with epidemiological studies on humans.

The results are significant because the IARC classified wireless radiation as a class 2B ('possible') carcinogen, rather than class 2A ('probable') carcinogen, because it considered there was a lack of animal studies showing a link between cancer and radiation. This study changes that situation.

The NTP is expected to release the results of its experiment and potential warning to the public, according to Dr Louis Slesin, who broke the story.

You can read his report here.

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



David Suzuki John Cherry Brett Moule Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr David Carpenter Professor Martin Pall Dr Larry Marshall Dr Don Masich Dr James Suckling Dr Louis Slesin Prof Olle Johansson Dr William Rea Dr Cyril Smith Professor Bruce Armstrong Professor Michael Berk Dr Igor Belyaev SAM Model Dr Priyanka Bandara US Senate Hearing Professor Anthony Miller Dr, Louis, Slesin Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Mary Redmayne Dr Dieudonné Dr Jean Monroe Lennart Hardell Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr Christine Aschermann John Patterson Professor Rodney Croft Dr Martin Pall Cindy Sage Venice Resolution Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Linda Erdreich Ken Karipidis Alasdair Phillips Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr Kenneth Foster Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Ron Overberg Dr John Dockerty Anne Silk Dr. Henry Lai Stewart Committee Reports Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Professor Belpomme Dr James Oschman Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi T Abelin Essex University Study Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dennis J Kucinich Dr Ronald Powell Dr Michael Kundi Dr Hugh Taylor Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Paul Wentworth Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Siegal Sadetzki Frank Drews Michael Carlberg Dr Magda Havas Michael Dolan Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Dr Devra Davis Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Fernando Saravi Dr. Neil Cherry Ohio State University Frank Clegg Salzburg Resolution IAFF Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi A. Garcia E Lopez-Martin Dr S Mortazavi Kaspersky Lab SCENIHR Report Dr Markus Kern Dr Lisa Nagy Mr Gary Melik Jim Phillips Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Christopher Portier WHO Grant Brecht Prof Andrew Marino Dr De-Kun Li Mona Nilsson Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Catalyst



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney