Fire stations and phone towers

EMR Australia - Wednesday, December 01, 2004

Firemen are calling for a study into the risks of radiation from mobile phone antennas located on fire stations. On October 4 the International Association of Firefighters (IAFF) announced that it has passed a resolution at its August 17 Convention in Boston, US.

The resolution states, “Whereas many fire-fighters who are living with cell towers on or adjacent to their stations are paying a substantial price in terms of physical and mental health. As first responders and protectors of the general public, it is crucial that firefighters are functioning at optimal cognitive and physical capacity at all times.”

The IAFF is calling for funding for a study on firemen’s exposures from antennas located on fire stations and of the health of firemen in stations with and without antennas.

“IAFF members are concerned about the effects of living directly under these stations for a considerable stationary period of time and on a daily basis.”

(IAFF Press Release, 04.10.04.)

EMR Focus, Vol 1 no 4, Dec 2004,

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Jacquinta Lee Professor Hugo Lagercrantz John Patterson Paul Wentworth Ohio State University Dr Asad Rahmani Catalyst Grant Brecht Dr Dominique Belpomme Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Jean Monroe Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Mona Nilsson Professor Anthony Miller Dr James Suckling Alasdair Phillips Frank Drews Lennart Hardell Dr Kenneth Foster Michael Dolan Dr Louis Slesin John Cherry Dr Fernando Saravi Professor Michael Berk Dr De-Kun Li Salzburg Resolution Dr Lawrence Anukam SCENIHR Report Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Devra Davis Dr Christine Aschermann Prof Andrew Marino Michael Carlberg US Senate Hearing Anne Silk Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) T Abelin Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Jim Phillips Dr. Neil Cherry Dr Christopher Portier Dr Ron Overberg Dr Dieudonné Dr David Carpenter Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Magda Havas Professor Martin Pall Dr Priyanka Bandara Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr, Louis, Slesin Professor Rodney Croft Essex University Study SAM Model Professor Belpomme Dr Michael Kundi Dr Martin Pall WHO Dr William Rea Dr Markus Kern Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) ARPANSA RF Standard Venice Resolution IAFF A. Garcia Brett Moule Dr John Dockerty Dr Linda Erdreich Ken Karipidis Kaspersky Lab Dr Mary Redmayne Cindy Sage Dr S Mortazavi David Suzuki Dr Don Masich Dr James Oschman Dr Ronald Powell Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dennis J Kucinich Dr Larry Marshall Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Mr Gary Melik Frank Clegg Dr Lennart Hardell E Lopez-Martin Dr Maryanne Demasi Stewart Committee Reports Dr. Henry Lai Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Siegal Sadetzki Prof Olle Johansson Dr Cyril Smith



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney