European Parliament on mobile phones

EMR Australia - Wednesday, December 10, 2008

The European Parliament has called for stricter standards to protect public health from mobile communications.

The European Parliament has acknowledged the risks of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) from communications technology and called for stricter safety limits. In its mid-term review of the European Environment and Health Action Plan 2004-2010, members of Parliament- voted 522 to 16 to endorse a set of precautionary recommendations on 4 September.

The Parliament recognised the emergence of new syndromes, such as hypersensitivity to electromagnetic radiation, and urged member states to reduce exposure in their buildings and to consider the effects of EMR on sensitive members of the population.

Members of Parliament expressed concern about the evidence of risk from EMR. Parliament “is greatly concerned at the Bio-Initiative international report concerning electromagnetic fields, which summarises over 1500 studies on that topic and which points in its conclusions to the health risks posed by emissions from mobile-telephony devices such as mobile telephones, UMTS, Wi-Fi, Wimax and Bluetooth, and also DECT landline telephones.”

It resolved that current exposure limits for EMR are “obsolete” because they “obviously take no account of developments in information and communication technologies, of the recommendations issued by the European Environment Agency or of the stricter emission standards adopted, for example, by Belgium, Italy and Austria, and do not address the issue of vulnerable groups, such as pregnant women, newborn babies and children”.

In a further resolution, the Parliament urged member states to take “advantages of the prevention and precautionary principles and to develop and implement tools enabling potential environmental and health threats to be anticipated. and countered.” It also called for funding of practical measures to reduce environmental impacts on health and to implement precautionary measures.

The full text of the resolution can be found at

from 'EMR and Health' Dec 2008, vol 4 no 4

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Devra Davis Dr Dieudonné Ken Karipidis Professor Martin Pall Dr Lennart Hardell Frank Clegg Professor Anthony Miller Dr Magda Havas Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Olga Naidenko Frank Drews Jim Phillips WHO Dennis J Kucinich Mr Gary Melik Professor Michael Berk Dr Fernando Saravi Dr Linda Erdreich Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Jean Monroe Dr. Neil Cherry Michael Carlberg Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Professor Rodney Croft Dr. Henry Lai Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Kaspersky Lab IAFF Dr Ronald Powell Dr Lisa Nagy Dr, Louis, Slesin Dr Lawrence Anukam Michael Dolan Dr Don Masich Dr Michael Kundi Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr James Oschman Prof Trevor Marshall John Cherry Dr Stephen Solomon Cindy Sage Dr Mary Redmayne Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Lennart Hardell Dr Dominique Belpomme John Patterson Dr Louis Slesin Prof Olle Johansson Ohio State University Dr David Carpenter US Senate Hearing Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Prof Andrew Marino Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr Martin Pall SAM Model Dr Cyril Smith Essex University Study Brett Moule Professor Belpomme Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Anne Silk Paul Wentworth Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr De-Kun Li Dr Maryanne Demasi Grant Brecht Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) A. Garcia Dr Christopher Portier Dr Siegal Sadetzki Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Priyanka Bandara Dr Larry Marshall Dr Kenneth Foster Alasdair Phillips Dr S Mortazavi Stewart Committee Reports T Abelin Dr William Rea Mona Nilsson Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr John Dockerty Venice Resolution Dr Ron Overberg Dr James Suckling Dr Markus Kern E Lopez-Martin Catalyst Salzburg Resolution ARPANSA RF Standard David Suzuki SCENIHR Report Professor Hugo Lagercrantz



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney