ELF and brain tumours

EMR Australia - Wednesday, March 05, 2003

Spanish researcher Dr Marina Pollan has investigated the interaction of magnetic fields from the power system and carcinogenic chemicals on the incidence of two types of brain cancer—gliomas and meningiomas.

Her subjects were 1.5 million Swedish men who had worked between 1970 and 1989.

She found that:

  • exposure to magnetic fields but not chemicals did not increase glioma risk;
  • exposure to magnetic fields above 2 mG plus solvents increased glioma risk by 50%;
  • exposure to magnetic fields above 2 mG plus pesticides or herbicides doubled glioma risk;
  • exposure to magnetic fields above 2 mG plus lead increased quadrupled glioma risk.
  • there was no relationship between magnetic fields and meningiomas.

(Cancer Epidemiol, Biomarkers Prev 11(12), pp 1678-1683, 2002.)

EMR News Mar 2003, Vol 2 No 1

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Priyanka Bandara Grant Brecht Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Devra Davis Dr De-Kun Li Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr Dieudonné Jim Phillips Michael Carlberg Ken Karipidis Prof Andrew Marino Dr John Dockerty Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr Louis Slesin Dr Ronald Powell Dr Maryanne Demasi Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Larry Marshall Lennart Hardell SCENIHR Report Professor Martin Pall Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Venice Resolution Dr Linda Erdreich Professor Michael Berk Dr David Carpenter Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Cindy Sage Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Professor Rodney Croft David Suzuki Dr Asad Rahmani Dr Michael Kundi Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Dominique Belpomme Frank Clegg Dennis J Kucinich Dr Jean Monroe Stewart Committee Reports Frank Drews Dr James Oschman WHO Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Mr Gary Melik Anne Silk SAM Model Brett Moule T Abelin Dr Don Masich Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Kenneth Foster Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr S Mortazavi Dr Magda Havas Dr Martin Pall Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Markus Kern Dr. Neil Cherry Catalyst IAFF Michael Dolan Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Christopher Portier Paul Wentworth Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Stephen Solomon Dr James Suckling Dr Ron Overberg Kaspersky Lab Dr. Henry Lai ARPANSA RF Standard Dr William Rea John Patterson Alasdair Phillips Professor Anthony Miller Dr Fernando Saravi A. Garcia Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Cyril Smith Dr, Louis, Slesin Essex University Study Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Prof Trevor Marshall E Lopez-Martin Salzburg Resolution Ohio State University John Cherry Professor Belpomme Dr Christine Aschermann Mona Nilsson Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Prof Olle Johansson Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) US Senate Hearing Dr Mary Redmayne



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney