CDC under the spotlight

EMR Australia - Friday, January 08, 2016

The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) has found itself the centre of scrutiny following revelations by the New York Times, (1) which obtained 500 pages of internal CDC emails, relating to the CDC’s advice about mobile phone use on its website.

In 2014 the CDC published on its website precautionary advice for mobile phone use, including the statement ‘We recommend caution in cell phone use.’ This advice was supported by CDC’s Director, Dr Christopher Portier, who was a member of the IARC team which classified radiofrequency radiation from mobile phones as a Class 2B (‘possible’) carcinogen.

The 1 January article revealed that, after the CDC published its precautionary advice, it was questioned about the changes by officials and asked whether states might face litigation for allowing the use of phones in schools and libraries. Shortly after the CDC published its precautionary amendments, it withdrew them.

The Environmental Health Trust, (2) which reviewed the CDC emails, reported that the CDC obtained assistance to rework its mobile phone advice from Dr Kenneth Foster, who has links with the mobile phone industry.

The amended webpage:

  • removed the statement ‘We recommend caution in cell phone use’;
  • removed a recommendation to keep mobile phones away from pacemakers;
  • removed reference that children may have a higher risk of developing problems in the future if mobile phone radiation does cause health problems;
  • did not report the IARC classification of mobile phone radiation as possibly carcinogenic.

1. New York Times, 1.1.16,


About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Ken Karipidis Dr Devra Davis Frank Drews T Abelin Dr Don Masich Stewart Committee Reports Dr Magda Havas Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Olga Naidenko Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Prof Olle Johansson Dr Ron Overberg Dr Linda Erdreich Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr. Henry Lai Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Professor Martin Pall A. Garcia SCENIHR Report Dr Kenneth Foster Dr John Dockerty Professor Michael Berk Dr Mary Redmayne SAM Model Michael Dolan Dr Lisa Nagy Alasdair Phillips Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr Martin Pall E Lopez-Martin WHO Venice Resolution Dr Louis Slesin Prof Andrew Marino Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Maryanne Demasi Lennart Hardell Dr S Mortazavi Dr, Louis, Slesin Dr Larry Marshall Salzburg Resolution Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Hugh Taylor Grant Brecht Paul Wentworth Dr Priyanka Bandara Dr Fernando Saravi David Suzuki Dr James Oschman Dr Ronald Powell Dr Christopher Portier Professor Anthony Miller Dr Lawrence Anukam Catalyst Essex University Study Dr James Suckling Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Mona Nilsson Professor Belpomme Dr Cyril Smith Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr Michael Kundi Dr Dominique Belpomme Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Mr Gary Melik Ohio State University Kaspersky Lab ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr Asad Rahmani Dennis J Kucinich John Cherry Dr David Carpenter Dr William Rea IAFF Dr Dieudonné Cindy Sage Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dr De-Kun Li US Senate Hearing Dr Lennart Hardell Frank Clegg Jim Phillips Brett Moule Professor Rodney Croft Michael Carlberg Dr Igor Belyaev Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Jean Monroe John Patterson Dr. Neil Cherry Dr Markus Kern Anne Silk



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney