Brain tumour increase in Sweden

EMR Australia - Monday, December 29, 2014

In recent years, the incidence of brain tumours in Sweden has increased dramatically, yet this trend is not reflected in the Swedish Cancer Registry, according to the Swedish Radiation Protection Foundation.

The Foundation compiled statistics drawn from the Swedish Health Board and cancer registry which showed that the number of people who died from brain tumours ’of unknown origin’ had increased by 157% between 2008 and 2013. Board of Health data showed that deaths from such tumours had increased from 96 in 2004 to 229 in 2013—yet no such increase is recorded in the data of the Swedish Cancer Registry.

Foundation chairman, Mona Nilsson, says that the underreporting of brain tumour incidence in the Cancer Registry is misleading. ‘The Swedish cancer statistics of brain tumors is increasingly being used as an argument against increased risk of brain tumors from mobile phone use not only in Sweden, but also on an international level,’ she said.

The Foundation has called on the Swedish Government and businesses to alert the community to the potential risks of brain tumours from mobile phone use.

(Press release, Swedish Radiation Protection Foundation: http://

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Larry Marshall Dr Don Masich Dr Cyril Smith Dr James Suckling Professor Belpomme Prof Trevor Marshall David Suzuki Mr Gary Melik Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Dr Jacquinta Lee Ohio State University Dr Kenneth Foster SAM Model US Senate Hearing Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Devra Davis Dr Christopher Portier Michael Carlberg Jim Phillips IAFF Dr Dieudonné Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr James Oschman Dr. Henry Lai Prof Olle Johansson Paul Wentworth Dr. Neil Cherry Dr De-Kun Li Anne Silk Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Martin Pall Dr Ronald Powell E Lopez-Martin Alasdair Phillips Dr Stephen Solomon Ken Karipidis Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Fernando Saravi Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Dr Lennart Hardell T Abelin Catalyst Michael Dolan Dennis J Kucinich Dr Igor Belyaev Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Linda Erdreich Venice Resolution Frank Drews SCENIHR Report Dr S Mortazavi Dr Magda Havas Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Maryanne Demasi Brett Moule Professor Rodney Croft Professor Anthony Miller Dr Christine Aschermann Frank Clegg Dr Markus Kern ARPANSA RF Standard Professor Martin Pall John Cherry Dr Ron Overberg Dr Mary Redmayne Essex University Study Dr, Louis, Slesin Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Stewart Committee Reports Dr Jean Monroe Dr David Carpenter Dr Siegal Sadetzki Lennart Hardell Prof Andrew Marino Professor Michael Berk Mona Nilsson Dr John Dockerty Dr William Rea Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Lisa Nagy Cindy Sage Dr Priyanka Bandara Dr Louis Slesin Dr Asad Rahmani WHO Salzburg Resolution Dr Michael Kundi Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Grant Brecht John Patterson Kaspersky Lab Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM A. Garcia Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney