Brain tumour controversy

EMR Australia - Thursday, March 10, 2011

Why is it that the Interphone and Orebro University studies on mobile phones and brain tumours have found different results?

In a new paper, Dr Lennart Hardell from Orebro University in Sweden explains that the findings are not so different after all.

Hardell’s team has conducted a reanalysis of the data in their previous research, applying the criteria used by the Interphone project. To do this they:

  • only considered tumour patients aged 30 to 59
  • they disregarded subjects’ cordless phone use and
  • they considered ‘high’ exposure to be 1640 hours or more (ie 30 mins a day over 10 years).

Considered in this way, the data showed that the most exposed mobile phone users had 1.75 times the risk of gliomas—similar to the Interphone results which showed 1.4 times the risk of tumours.

Looked at in another way, the analysis shows that the Interphone results probably underestimate the risk of brain tumours by not including a wider age spread, disregarding cordless phone use and classifying 1640 hours as ‘high’ use.

(Hardell, L et al, Int J Epidemiol, Dec 2010.)

from 'EMR and Health' Mar 2011, vol 7 no 1

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



John Patterson Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Frank Clegg Dr Lisa Nagy Kaspersky Lab Prof Andrew Marino Dr Ron Overberg Dr David Carpenter Dr Louis Slesin Alasdair Phillips IAFF Dr Lawrence Anukam Dennis J Kucinich Mona Nilsson Lennart Hardell Dr James Suckling Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Dr John Dockerty Dr Dominique Belpomme US Senate Hearing Dr S Mortazavi Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Professor Bruce Armstrong Anne Silk ARPANSA RF Standard Dr Maryanne Demasi David Suzuki John Cherry Ken Karipidis Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum SAM Model Dr Olga Naidenko Professor Anthony Miller SCENIHR Report Stewart Committee Reports Dr Mary Redmayne Professor Martin Pall Dr Fernando Saravi Dr Linda Erdreich Dr De-Kun Li Essex University Study Dr Cyril Smith Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Catalyst Dr, Louis, Slesin Prof Olle Johansson Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Professor Rodney Croft Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr. Henry Lai Dr Stephen Solomon Paul Wentworth Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Dr Martin Pall Dr Christine Aschermann Dr William Rea Dr Don Masich Dr Markus Kern Michael Carlberg Brett Moule Dr James Oschman Dr Jean Monroe Salzburg Resolution Jim Phillips Dr Asad Rahmani Venice Resolution Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Jacquinta Lee Michael Dolan Dr Larry Marshall Prof Trevor Marshall Dr Dieudonné E Lopez-Martin Cindy Sage Grant Brecht Dr Magda Havas Professor Michael Berk Dr Igor Belyaev Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Mr Gary Melik Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Siegal Sadetzki Dr Ronald Powell A. Garcia Dr. Neil Cherry Ohio State University Dr Christopher Portier Frank Drews Dr Priyanka Bandara Professor Belpomme Dr Devra Davis T Abelin Dr Kenneth Foster Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Michael Kundi WHO



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney