Aussie mum wins WiFi battle with school

EMR Australia - Wednesday, November 11, 2015

An Australian mother has succeeded in preventing the installation of WiFi in the school attended by her child, who had developed reactions to EMR, especially WiFi and Bluetooth.

When her child’s school considered the installation of WiFi, she submitted a comment to the Department of Education’s website reporting her child’s sensitivity, requesting assistance to find a high school without WiFi exposure and raising issues of disability and discrimination.

The school and district education officers then engaged in discussions with the mother.

She referred to a number of publications on issues of disability and accessibility in education and human rights. These included:

  • the United Nations ‘Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities
  • the Disability Discrimination Act
  • and Disability Standards for Education.

She also referred to the MacDonald vs Comcare legal case and failure of Lloyds of London to insure against EMR-related injuries.

Following these discussions, the school introduced a policy to accommodate the child’s sensitivity, including using ipads in airplane mode and downloading from the internet after school hours. (

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Hugh Taylor Dr Larry Marshall Dr Cyril Smith Dr Dominique Belpomme Prof Olle Johansson Dr Lisa Nagy Dr De-Kun Li Dr Priyanka Bandara Kaspersky Lab Professor Martin Pall Salzburg Resolution Prof Trevor Marshall US Senate Hearing Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr David Carpenter Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Ken Karipidis Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Michael Dolan Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Louis Slesin Dr Maryanne Demasi Jim Phillips Dennis J Kucinich Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Ron Overberg Dr James Oschman Dr James Suckling A. Garcia Cindy Sage Mona Nilsson Dr Siegal Sadetzki Michael Carlberg Dr. Henry Lai Dr Lennart Hardell Dr Ronald Powell Dr. Neil Cherry SAM Model Venice Resolution Dr Don Masich SCENIHR Report WHO IAFF Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum Alasdair Phillips David Suzuki Dr Martin Pall Professor Rodney Croft Anne Silk Dr William Rea Dr Fernando Saravi Professor Belpomme Dr Christine Aschermann Ohio State University Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Professor Hugo Lagercrantz Mr Gary Melik Dr Devra Davis Prof Andrew Marino John Cherry Dr Mary Redmayne Essex University Study Dr S Mortazavi E Lopez-Martin Dr Olga Naidenko Dr Christopher Portier Dr Asad Rahmani Lennart Hardell Dr, Louis, Slesin Catalyst Dr Igor Belyaev Frank Drews Dr Michael Kundi Professor Michael Berk Frank Clegg Dr Linda Erdreich Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr Markus Kern John Patterson Dr Kenneth Foster Grant Brecht Paul Wentworth Stewart Committee Reports T Abelin Dr Dieudonné Dr Jacquinta Lee Dr John Dockerty Dr Jean Monroe Brett Moule Dr Magda Havas Professor Anthony Miller ARPANSA RF Standard



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney