A message to schools & libraries about the risks of wireless radiation

EMR Australia - Monday, February 29, 2016

A retired US physicist has called on libraries and schools to address the risks of wireless radiation.

Dr Ronald Powell, who worked for the Executive Office of the President, the National Science Foundation, and the National Institute of Standards and Technology, expressed concerns about the impact of wireless radiation in an open letter of 20 August.

‘The vast majority of the thousands of peer reviewed research publications of this [international biomedical] community, when funded independent of the wireless industries, are finding biological effects of concern. Further, these biological effects occur at levels of radiation far lower than earlier understood. Simply stated, a worldwide health crisis is emerging,’ the letter states.

Dr Powell referred to the fact that environmental emissions are increasing exponentially but that most people are unaware of this because of their invisibility. He said that present standards, based only on heating effects of exposure, are ‘outdated and overly permissive’ and he referred to the influence that the telecommunications industry exerts on both the public and goverments.

Libraries and schools can protect people by using wired connections rather than wireless connections, Dr Powell said.

20 August 2015 - Message to Public Libraries about Wireless Devices -

20 August 2015 - Message to Public Schools about Wireless Devices -


Dr. Powell has issued updated documents for schools and colleges (November 2015) and public libraries (February 2016). Here are links:

24 November 2015 - Message to Public Schools about Wireless Devices -

24 November 2015 - Message to Schools and Colleges about Wireless Devices and Health -

27 February 2016 - Message to Public Libraries about Wireless Devices and Health -

About The Author - Lyn McLean is a consumer advocate, author and educator and has been monitoring and writing on the subject of electromagnetic radiation (EMR) for over 20 years. She is the director of EMR Australia.

Follow on Feedly follow us in feedly

Trackback Link
Post has no trackbacks.

Recent Posts



T Abelin Salzburg Resolution Ohio State University E Lopez-Martin Dr S Mortazavi Frank Drews Dr Christine Aschermann Dr Fernando Saravi Dr James Suckling Lennart Hardell WHO Dr Ron Overberg Dr Devra Davis Dr Lawrence Anukam Dr Christopher Portier Paul Wentworth Dr Cyril Smith Dr Don Masich Dr Stephen Solomon Dr Ronald Powell Dr Dominique Belpomme Dr Arpad Szallasi (MD) Venice Resolution Dr Dieudonné Cindy Sage Associate Professor Ray Kearney OAM Frank Clegg Dr Louis Slesin Dr James Oschman Dr Martin Pall Dr Michael Kundi Dr Cornelia Waldmann-Selsam Dr Stephanie McCarter (MD) Dr Hugh Taylor Dr. Masayuki Tatemichi Kaspersky Lab Grant Brecht David Suzuki Prof Andrew Marino Professor Rodney Croft John Cherry Professor Belpomme Michael Dolan Dr Magda Havas Professor Anthony Miller Dr Lisa Nagy Dr Asad Rahmani Professor Martin Pall Catalyst Dr Dariuz Leszczynski Dr Siegal Sadetzki Mona Nilsson Essex University Study Sydney Council Phone Tower Forum A. Garcia SAM Model Dr William Rea Dr. Neil Cherry Michael Carlberg Dr, Louis, Slesin Dr. Henry Lai Dr John Dockerty Dr Kenneth Foster Mr Gary Melik Dr Gilbert de Paula (MD) Dr Mary Redmayne Dennis J Kucinich Dr Jean Monroe Dr Olga Naidenko Professor Bruce Armstrong Dr Jacquinta Lee Vijayalaxmi and Maria Scarfi Dr Lennart Hardell Brett Moule Dr Maryanne Demasi Jim Phillips Professor Michael Berk Dr Linda Erdreich Specific Absorption Rate (SARs) Dr Larry Marshall Prof Trevor Marshall Alasdair Phillips Stewart Committee Reports US Senate Hearing Anne Silk Dr Markus Kern Dr David Carpenter Ken Karipidis Dr Priyanka Bandara IAFF Prof Olle Johansson Professor Hugo Lagercrantz SCENIHR Report Dr Igor Belyaev John Patterson Dr De-Kun Li ARPANSA RF Standard



EMR Australia © 2017. All Rights Reserved. Terms & Conditions | Privacy | Sitemap | Adobe Business Catalyst Sydney